Wednesday, 24 July 2024


Antrim GAA Visit the Official Club Aontroma Website

Cunningham steers Antrim to victory over Clare

Bookmark and Share
14 February 2009
A goal and eight points from full-forward and captain Paddy Cunningham steered Antrim to a well deserved seven point win over Clare in Division 4 of the National Football League at Casement Park on Saturday night.
Cunningham’s goal after five minutes, following a defence splitting pass by CJ McGourty, settled the Saffrons after Clare had shocked them with a goal inside forty seconds, and the Lamh Dhearg man went on to add eight points over the seventy minutes, in a faultless free taking display.
Again Antrim left their fans frustrated as their finishing failed to match the chances created, but new manager Liam Bradley must have been pleased with their work rate and endeavour as they each and everyone of them gave 100%.
Cunningham’s goal, and three excellent points from midfielder Michael McCann, helped the home side to a 1-7 to 1-3 half-time lead, a scoreline which certainly did not flatter them.
They started the second-half well and stretched that lead to five, but they lost their way a little for a fifteen minute spell before regaining the upper hand and securing two more valuable league points.

Scorers -- Antrim: P Cunningham 1-8 (0-6f), M McCann, CJ McGourty 0-2 each, B Hasson, D McCann 0-1 each.
Clare: S Maloney 1-1, D Tubridy 0-5 (0-4f), M O'Shea 0-1.
Antrim: S McGreevy; C Brady, S McVeigh, K O'Boyle; T Scullion, D O'Hagan, J Crozier; M McCann, B Hasson; J Loughrey, C Close, C Murray; K Brady, P Cunningham, CJ McGourty.
Subs: T McCann for C Murray (yc), N McKeever for S McVeigh, S Burke for B Hasson, M Dougan for CJ McGourty (yc), D McCann for D O'Hagan (yc)
Clare: I McInerney; M McMahon, C Whelan, T Madigan; J Markham, K Dilleen, G Kelly; G Brennan, F O'Dea; D Russell, P Reidy, S Maloney; M O'Shea, E Coughlan, D Tubridy. Subs: D Ryan for T Madigan, P O'Dwyer for F O'Dea, R Donnelly for G Brennan, C O'Connor for C Whelan (yc), G Quinlan for G Kelly
Referee: P Kneel (Louth)

View Gallery